Electric Fan

An ASHSAM Story

They were on a shooting break and the news about the show’s early demise had just been given to them.

“Hey, are you okay?” he asked.

She gave him this sad smile, “Yeah, I guess. I would have wanted this to last a little longer, you know. But there are just some things that end sooner than we want them to be. But I just think of the good things that happened.”

“Like?”

“I got to know you better.”

“You think that’s a good thing?”

“On second thought. . . . . .”

They both smiled and they were just quiet for a while. Their silence was a cocoon amidst the buzz of the crew preparing for the next scene. Not the awkward kind of silence but the kind that only people who are comfortable with each other could do. After a moment he said, “I had a dream last night. It’s weird because I hardly have dreams. And if ever I do have them, I can barely remember them when I wake up. But last night was different. It was so vivid.”

“What was it all about?”

“It was about you.”

“So it was a nightmare then!”

He laughed, “Yeah! I was sweating all over when I woke up. Seriously, it was you on this boat all alone rowing in the middle of this vast lake. It was such a peaceful scene. The lake’s water was hardly moving, the sky was so clear and your face had this look of serenity.”

“Hhhmm, interesting. So, Samuel The Dreamer, what is the interpretation of your dream?”

He flashed her this smile and she couldn’t help but think, how could someone’s smile have that effect on her? It’s like he’s lighting up the entire set with that smile of his.

“After all the Freudian analysis, I’ve come to a definite conclusion.”

“And that is….?”

“You had that serene look on your face dahil  . . . . . . . . . . . . . wala kang utang!”

And she burst into this hearty laughter, and he would trade anything in the world just to hear it again.

After her laughter died down, she quietly said, “I’ll miss Billie.”

He looked at her and said, “I’ll miss Billie too.”

And they both knew what he really meant by those words. She has such a beautiful heart that sometimes he would just want to take her into his arms and protect her from all the pain she’s feeling. Of all the actors in this show, she has been taking most of the flak about its performance. And even though he knew that she’s trying not to show it, he could see that it makes her sad sometimes.

“You’ll miss Vince too right?”, he asked.

“I guess. A little.” She smiled, letting him know that she’s teasing him. She’ll miss “Vince” alright. The show is ending but not necessarily their friendship. But she knows that she has to work on this one if it’s to continue.

“You’ll still talk to me in ASAP even after all of this is over, right?”

“I’m not really sure. I’m torn between just giving you a nod and giving you my charming smile when we meet in the hallways. I still have to think about it.”

“I’d be honored even with just the nod. I mean THE Popstar Princess giving me a nod in the hallways?! That’s a huge thing!” She laughed again and he sat there thinking how fortunate he was to be able to make her laugh.

People say that he has a pure heart, that he looks at the world with the heart of a child. But when he got to know her, he was amazed at how similar they are. They both have this quality of seeing things in a way a child sees the world, innocent and pure. Inspite of the many intrigues thrown their way, their hearts have not hardened. You cannot see in their smiles and laughter the broken hearts and the shed tears they have gone through. They have not let those experiences change them. Both are grateful to have found friendship with each other. And both wanted this friendship to continue even after the show is over.

“You’d still give me the time of day even if there are a lot of guys out there lining up to give you flowers and chocolates, right?”

“Flowers and chocolates? I’m not really into those.”

“Really? Now what are you into?” He asked this question as casually as he could, but deep down inside he really wants to know her answer.

She looked at him for a while and seemed to be debating how to answer him. Finally she said, “I’m more into mechanical objects, you know. . . . . . . . . . . .  like. . . . . . . . . . .  electric fans and stuff like that.”

He smiled. She smiled. And when two people smile at each other like that, it makes the world a much better place.

About AnnAugust

I love Sarah Geronimo
This entry was posted in Ashsam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Electric Fan

  1. cheezekee says:

    great works maui…keep going! awesome!

  2. Jon says:

    Oh gosh! I so love it, Anna! Thank you so much! ^_^ I’m an AshSam fan, you know! hehehe! Crazy kilig!😀

  3. achidave says:

    ATE.. idol na kita!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ngayon ko lang nabasa toh. As usual very well written. I like the style na different leading men ang nasa stories mo. However, I still get more kilig with JLC in the story. Beggars cannot be choosy right? hehehe…Hope to see more of your stories. Thank you.

  5. chubgene says:

    nicely written.. wish it was real.. hehe

  6. wowwwww ang galeng2 mo talaga maui! na up-lift na naman ang puso at damdamin ko sa sinulat moh! keep up the good work maui at talagang avid fan mo na rin ako pagdating sa mga blogs very inspiring!abang mode uli ako for more!!!!

  7. kp_the_fatih says:

    sorry nakalimutan kong magpasalamat🙂 Thank you! It was wonderfully written!

  8. kp_the_fatih says:

    Galing! I enjoyed reading it. More please🙂

  9. Anonymous says:

    thank you for this! I enjoyed reading it. More please🙂

  10. ashjackie says:

    galing!!! more please..hehe

  11. Pingback: Tweets that mention Electric Fan | AnnAugust's Blog -- Topsy.com

  12. Cristina Alonzo says:

    Hello Maui, i am so amazed how you write, you should write a book or baka mayroon na…. hehehehehe.. galing eh…… more more more……. tita cristie

Leave a Reply

